APRIL 30, 2013 – Mojave, John Wayne & TV series

Posted: April 29, 2013 in Geocaching
Tags: ,

Yep, on the bucket list… I have often wondered if people on the road would honk & hate from the constant stopping but I guess I could put a sticker on my car or something that I stop a lot… Hmm.. Might be a good idea for a vinyl window sticker.

Dweeb's Diatribe

After so many recent trips to Barstow I decided to go to Mojave, at the other end of the desert. On the way I stopped at the scenic Lake Palmdale viewpoint. It was still under 80 degrees then.
042913_lake_palmdale
38 miles later I arrived and it was noticeably hotter.
042913_mojave
I drove my 22mpg Element because I thought that there’d be the usual dirt track for desert caching. It was a surprise to find a nice paved road at the beginning of the 45 cache John Wayne Series, JW1 John Wayne (GC3DZKE). I should’ve trusted what I thought I’d seen on google maps, driven my 48mpg Prius and saved $20. in gas. Oh well…
042913_tv_road
The caches were mostly 35mm film containers in ½ buried PVC tubes 0.25 miles apart, 5’ to 50’ off road. I’m used to stopping every 0.10 miles. The different spacing threw off my practiced rhythm. And because…

View original post 249 more words

Leave a Reply

